Message for U.S. Citizens: Yellow Fever Vaccination Enforcement

The U.S. Embassy in Namibia informs U.S. citizens that as of July 15, 2016, all travelers entering Namibia will be required to show proof of a yellow fever vaccination unless in possession of a valid waiver certificate as outlined below.  While this is not technically different from our previous advice to travelers to Namibia, the Namibian government has reiterated this requirement for visitors entering from areas prone to yellow fever.

As a reminder, Namibia requires a valid yellow fever certificate from all citizens and non-citizens over one year of age if:

  • Travelling from a yellow fever risk country;
  • You have transited a yellow fever risk county; or
  • If disinfection methods were used on aircrafts, ships, car wheels, and other modes of transportation coming from yellow fever risk countries.

If unable to produce a yellow fever vaccination certificate at the port of entry, the customs and/or health officer in Namibia will exercise the following measures:

  • Refuse entry; or
  • Quarantine until the certificate becomes valid

Those with an exemption certificate due to medical reasons will be allowed entry and required to report any fever or other symptoms to health authorities.

For further information:

  • See the State Department’s travel website for the Worldwide Caution, Travel Warnings, Travel Alerts, and Namibia’s Country Specific Information.
  • Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive security messages and make it easier to locate you in an emergency.
  • Contact the U.S. Embassy in Namibia, located at 14 Lossen Street, Ausspannplatz, Windhoek, at + (264-61) 295-8500, or via e-mail at, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 m. Monday through Thursday and 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. on Friday. After-hours emergency number for U.S. citizens is +(264-81)127-4384.
  • Call 1-888-407-4747 toll-free in the United States and Canada or 1-202-501-4444 from other countries from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time, Monday through Friday (except U.S. federal holidays).