Sixteen Namibian Youth Participants Selected for the 2023 Mandela Washington Fellowship Program

Deputy Chief of Mission Jessica Long, Public Affairs Officer Tiffany Miller and 2023 Namibian Mandela Washington Fellows

U.S. Embassy Namibia is proud to announce that 16 participants across eight regions in Namibia have been selected to participate in the 2023 Mandela Washington Fellowship (MWF) for Young African Leaders.

Launched in 2014, the Mandela Washington Fellowship is the flagship program of the Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) and embodies the U.S. commitment to invest in the future of Africa.  YALI was created in 2010 and supports young Africans as they spur economic growth and prosperity, strengthen democratic governance, and enhance peace and security across Africa.  Since 2014, nearly 6,000 young leaders from every country in Sub-Saharan Africa have participated in the Mandela Washington Fellowship. To date, U.S. Embassy Namibia has sent over 140 young leaders to the United States to participate in the program.

In June, twenty-eight U.S. educational institutions in 20 states and the District of Columbia will host Leadership Institutes for approximately 700 Mandela Washington Fellows.  The six-week professional development program, hosted by college and university campuses across the United States, will support the development of Fellows’ leadership skills through academic study, workshops, mentoring, networking with U.S. leaders, and collaboration with members of the local community.

U.S. Embassy Namibia is proud to announce that the following leaders will participate in the 2023 Mandela Washington Fellowship:

Ms. Eunice Shapange – Oshana Region
Mr. Ngundambiriko Katire – Otjozondjupa Region
Ms. Kina Indongo – Khomas Region
Mr. Joseph Ndondi – Ohangwena Region
Ms. Nelao Immanuel – Khomas Region
Mr. Fredrick Shipipa – Kavango East Region
Ms. Beatrice Schultz – Erongo Region
Ms. Rosalia Joseph – Otjozondjupa Region
Ms. Ellen Nanyeni – Khomas Region
Mr. Ruben Ndatitangi Angala – Khomas Region
Ms. Beverlyn Ganes – Kunene Region
Mr. Romanus Kanyanga – Hardap Region
Mr. Fillemon Aupokolo – Khomas Region
Ms. Shange-Ndamona Mungoba – Oshana Region
Mr. Mose Ndjarakana – Khomas Region
Ms. Laina Ndeshitila – Omusati Region

The Mandela Washington Fellowship is a program of the U.S. Department of State with funding provided by the U.S. Government and administered by International Research & Exchanges Board (IREX), an international, nonprofit organization that specializes in global education and development. For more information about the Mandela Washington Fellowship, visit